Song of praise…

I once again found myself in the extremely fortunate position of having my music performed by the fantastic Bristol-based choir, Harmonia Sacra.  The choir recently put on a concert to celebrate the release of their debut CD.  To mark the special occasion, and to meet new audience demand following the success of their previous concerts, the venue for this concert was the magnificent St. Mary Redcliffe Church in the centre of Bristol.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The programme largely comprised music from the choir’s new CD, though my first ever choral composition, which I wrote during the summer of 2010, was treated to a fresh performance.  I found it quite surreal being the only living composer to have their work on the concert programme… the others are long dead and buried –  though when you hear their phenomenal writing, it becomes clear why their music has stood the test of time!

I was pleased that my piece was once again very well received – clearly the music hasn’t aged too badly since 2010!  Who knows, perhaps people might still be performing my choral music in a few hundred years time as well – wouldn’t that be something!

After putting my last choral composition, Christe Redemptor Omnium, online back in December, I was overwhelmed by the positive response.  It was especially nice to receive encouraging feedback from people who perhaps wouldn’t usually listen to choral music.  I do believe the melodic and harmonic content of this kind of music means that it is intelligible for the audience that follow my electronic music output, so I’m excited to be able to make it somewhat accessible to those listeners.  It was particularly pleasing to have the piece endorsed by London Elektricity – I hope my electronic productions gain his support in the future too.

If you do enjoy these pieces, and would like to hear more in a similar style, I strongly recommend checking out Harmonia Sacra’s debut CD.  Click the link below for more details and to preview audio samples.  In my (fairly biased) opinion, it is brilliant.

Leave a Reply

